Murgia, Le Murge or the Altopiano delle Murge (Italian for “Murgia or Murge plateau”) is a topographic plateau of rectangular shape in southern Italy rich in karst formations. The plateau lies mainly within an area in the central part of the the Puglia (Apulia) region, in the Metropolitan City of Bari, and in Barletta-Andria-Trani province, extending into the Brindisi and Taranto provinces to the south, and Matera in Basilicata to the west. The name is believed to originate from murex, a Latin term meaning “sharp stone”. Murgia can in turn be divided into: Bassa Murgia, coastal Murgia, Terra delle Gravine, Valle d’Itria, Taranto Murge and Salentine Murge. Two ridges create a diagonal between the north-west and the south-east, with the Adriatic Sea to the east, the Fossa Bradanica to the west, the Ofanto Valley to the north and the Salento peninsula and the Ionico Tarantino arch at its southern point.

Wines: Murgia IGT. | Valle d’Itria IGT.