Cinque Terre is a string of centuries-old seaside villages on the rugged Italian Riviera coastline in the Liguria region of Italy. In each of the 5 towns (all in La Spezia province), colourful houses and vineyards cling to steep terraces, harbours are filled with fishing boats and trattorias turn out seafood specialties along with the Liguria region’s famous sauce, pesto. The Sentiero Azzurro cliffside hiking trail links the villages and offers sweeping sea vistas. It is a UNESCO World Heritage Site (1997).

Towns: Corniglia. | Manarola. | Monterosso al Mare. | Riomaggiore. | Vernazza.