Chablis Grand Cru AOC covers seven named sites or climats located on the best exposed slopes on the right back of the Chablis region. Originally five grands crus were ratified in 1919, namely Blanchot, Les Clos, Grenouilles, Valmur, and Vaudésir. In 1938 the total increased to seven with the addition of Preuses and BougrosJasper Morris (2007) points out that the Chablis Grand Cru AOC covers all seven vineyards, in contrast to Burgundy’s Côte d’Or where each Grand Cru vineyard is an appellation in its own right (Corton excepted). This means the appellation can be followed by the name of the climat from which the wine originates. 

Vineyard area & Wine production: 2002: 5,164hl from 5,184ha (Guide Hachette: 2004, p.458). | 2017 103ha (1% of the Chablis region’s production).


No certification: Droin.


Jasper Morris MW., ‘Grand Cru Chablis – Among the Oyster Shells’, World of Fine Wine 18/2007 p.204-210

Rosemary George MW, The wines of Chablis and the Grand Auxerrois, (Segrave Foulkes, 2007), p.40-41