Saint-Julien AOC is a red wine appellation covering the commune of Saint-Julien-Beychevelle (sic) and minor parts of two neighbouring communes (see below) on the left bank of the Bordeaux region. It forms the geographic centre of the Haut-Médoc. The name derives from the commune’s two hamlets: Beychevelle and the original St Julien.

Communes (3) | Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, and small parts of Cussac-Fort-Médoc and Saint-Laurent-Médoc.

Size: Saint-Julien AOC is the smallest of the Haut-Médoc’s six communally-named AOCs, the others being Margaux AOC, Saint-Julien AOC, Pauillac AOC,  Listrac-Médoc AOC and Moulis-en-Médoc AOC.

Vineyard area & wine production: 2002 35,978hl from 909ha (Guide Hachette des Vins 2004, p.394).

Terroir: Saint-Julien lies between the communes of Cussac-Fort-Médoc and Saint-Laurent-Médoc to the south and west respectively, and Pauillac to the north. The best vineyards occupy two plateaus (‘croupes’) on either side of the town.

Wine style: ‘Perfect claret, ideal balance between opulence and austerity,’ (Oz Clarke: 2015, p.230).

1855 Classification: 2nd growths (5) Château Ducru-Beaucaillou, Château Gruaud-Larose, Château Léoville-Barton, Château Léoville-Las-Cases & Château Léoville-Poyferré. 3rd growths (2): Château Lagrange & Château Langoa-Barton. 4th growths (4): Château Beychevelle, Château Branaire-Ducru, Château St Pierre & Château Talbot.


No certificationChâteau Beychevelle. | Château Branaire-Ducru. | Château du Glana. | Château Ducru-Beaucaillou. | Château Duluc–see Château Branaire-Ducru. | Château Gloria. | Château Gruaud-Larose. | Château Hortevie. | Château La Bridane. | Château Lagrange. | Château Lalande. | Château Lalande-Borie. |Château Langoa-Barton. | Château Léoville-Barton. | Château Léoville-Las-Cases. | Château Léoville-Poyferré. | Château Moulin de la Rose. | Château Saint-Pierre. | Château Talbot. | Château Terrey Gros Cailloux. | Château Teynac. | Sarget de Gruaud-Larose–see Château Gruaud-Larose