Orléans AOC in the Touraine district of the Loire Valley was called Vin de l’Orléanais VDQS until 2006 when it was divided in two, Orléans AOC and Orléans-Cléry  AOC. The Orléans AOC is located around the city of Orléans and on both sides of the Loire river whereas Orléans-Cléry AOC lies entirely on the south bank.

Communes (13): Left bank (‘rive gauche’) of the Loire: Cléry-Saint-André. | Mareau-aux-Prés. | Mézières-lez-Cléry. | Olivet. | Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Mesmin. Right bank (‘rive droite’) of the Loire: Baule. | Beaugency. | Chécy. | Mardié. | Meung-sur-Loire. | Orléans. | Saint-Ay. | Saint-Jean-de-Braye.

Vineyard area & wine production: 2002 2,934hl of red and 745hl of white from 132ha (Guide Hachette des Vins 2004, p.967).


Orléans Blanc: 60-100% Chardonnay (‘Auvernat Blanc’), 0-40% Pinot Gris (‘Auvernat Gris’).

Orléans Rosé: 60-100% Pinot Noir (‘Auvernat Rouge’), 0-40% Pinot Meunier (‘Gris Meunier’) and/or Cabernet Franc (‘Noir’) ot ‘Breton’.

Orléans Rouge: 70-90%  Pinot Meunier (‘Gris Meunier’), 10-30% Pinot Noir (‘Auvernat Rouge’).


Clery 100% CF on sandy gravel on the south bank of the Loire

12ha 478hl

Vineyard area & wine production: 2002 hl from ha (Guide Hachette des Vins 2004, p.967).