Cuneo province is located in the southwest of the Piemonte (Piedmont) region of Italy. To the west it borders on the French region of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. To the north it borders with the Metropolitan City of Turin (Torino). To the east it borders with the province of Asti. To the south it borders with the Ligurian provinces of Savona and Imperia. It is also known as La Provincia Granda, Piedmontese for “The Big Province”, because it is the fourth largest province in Italy (following the provinces of Sassari, South Tyrol, and Foggia and the largest one in Piedmont. Briga Marittima and Tenda were part of this province before cession to France in 1947.

Capital city: Cuneo.

CommunesSaluzzo. | Serralunga d’Alba.

Native wine grapes: Lambrusca di Alessandria (r). | Neretta Cuneese (r).