Berry, historical and cultural region, a former province of France whose seat was Bourges. The Berry included the départements of Cher (roughly corresponding to Upper Berry) and Indre (Lower Berry) in the Centre région of central France. It was a province of France until départements replaced the provinces on 4 March 1790. The Berry region now consists of the Cher, Indre and parts of the Creuse departments.