Vins de l’Orléanais in the Touraine region of France translates as Wines of Orléans, referring to the eponymous French in north-central France, about 69 miles (111 kilometres) southwest of Paris. It is the capital of the Loiret department. The Vins de l’Orléanais denomination was replaced by two separate AOCs as its plural name suggested: Orléans AOC for wines of all three colours, and the red wine-only Orléans-Cléry AOC. In the middle ages l’Orléanais wines were known as ‘vins françois’, meaning wines from the Île de France.