Saint-Émilion satellites, term used on the right bank of the Bordeaux region referring to four AOCs neighbouring Saint-Émilion but across the Barbanne stream on hilly terrain with very varied soils to the north-east. All four–Lussac, Montagne, Puisseguin, and Saint-Georges–have the right to append Saint-Émilion’s name to their own. Originally six named satellite areas existed until 1973, when Parsac-Saint-Émilion, named after a hamlet in Montagne called Parsac, became part of Montagne-Saint-Émilion AOC, and Sables-Saint-Émilion, a sandy-soiled area in the commune of Libourne (sable is French for sand) merged with Saint-Émilion itself.