The Rhein-Pfalz-Kreis is a district in the east of Rhineland-Palatinate, western Germany. The district was created in 1886 under the name Bezirksamt Ludwigshafen, one of the last acts of king Ludwig II of Bavaria. The population in the area around Speyer had grown significantly, which made the splitting of the Bezirksamt Speyer necessary. In 1969, the Speyer and Ludwigshafen districts and parts of the Frankenthal and Neustadt districts were merged again to form the new Ludwigshafen district. On May 19, 2003 the district parliament passed a resolution to rename the district “Rhein-Pfalz-Kreis” starting in 2004.