Pic Saint-Loup AOC is a wine region on the border between the Hérault and Gard departments, north of Montpellier, at the foot of the Cévennes in France’s Languedoc. It is named after the Pic Saint-Loup mountain (610-metres; 2,000 feet) which overlooks the production area north of Montpellier.

It was previously the most northerly of the fifteen sub-regions within the wider Languedoc DOC which covered most of Languedoc-Roussillon. Growers from six communes founded a union in 1931. The region gained VDQS status 1955, and with it three more communes. In 1966 more communes were added: Sainte-Croix-de-Quintillargues and Saint-Gély-du-Fesc, and slightly later Les Matelles and Le Triadou.

In 1960, thirteen VDQS regions were grouped together to form a single Coteaux du Languedoc VDQS. This became an AOC in 1985. In 1994 Pic Saint-Loup became a geographical name within the Coteaux du Languedoc which became an AOC in 2001. In May 2007 the Coteaux du Languedoc AOC was re-named Languedoc AOC and Pic Saint-Loup gained its own a specific AOC.

Communes (13): Corconne. | Cazevieille. | Claret. | Fontanès. | Lauret. | Le Triadou. | Les Matelles. | Saint-Gély-du-Fesc. | Saint-Jean-de-Cuculles. | Saint-Mathieu-de-Tréviers. | Sainte-Croix-de-Quintillargues. | Sauteyrargues. | Valflaunès.


Certified organic: Clos Marie.