Marsala DOC is the denomination for Marsala from Trapani province in Sicily (‘Sicilia’). The DOC dates from 1969 and is named after the town of Marsala on the westernmost tip of Sicily. Its wines and fortified wines are based on the following grape varieties: Grillo and/or Cataratto (all varieties and all the clones, and/or Ansonica (locally called Inzolia or Insolia) and/or Damaschino for Marsala production such as the Oro; Perricone (locally called Pignatello) and/or Calabrese (locally known as Nero d’Avola) and/ or Nerello Mascalese are used for Marsala Ruby.