Czechoslovakia | European nation created via the 1920 Treaty of Trianon after the post-World War One break-up of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.  From 01st January 1993 Czechoslovakia’s two provinces split voluntarily into two independent self-governing countries. These were the Czech Republic in the west (comprising the ancient areas of Bohemia with its capital Prague, and Moravia), and Slovakia in the east.