Austria is a landlocked European country located east of the Alps in the southern part of Central Europe and created in 1919 (see Austria 1919 creation). Most Austrian wine regions are located in the eastern part of the country due to its favourable climatic conditions. Winegrowing is practised to a smaller extent across the rest of Austria as well.

Political geographyAustria is a Federal republic comprised of nine autonomous regions or federal states (Bundesländer), all of which have governments and parliaments. They are Burgenland, Carinthia (Kärnten), Lower Austria (Niederösterreich), Salzburg, Styria (Steiermark), Tyrol (Tirol), Vorarlberg, Upper Austria (Oberösterreich), and Vienna (Wien).

Austria: Organic & Biodynamic wine data: Austria is a global leader with regard both to the quality and extent of its organic and Biodynamic wine-growing. See Austria, organic and Biodynamic wine data.

Wine regions

Wien (Vienna): See Wien (Vienna).

Niederösterreich: See Niederösterreich (Lower Austria): Sub-regions Carnuntum. | Donauland–see Wagram. | Kamptal. | Kremstal. | Thermenregion. | Traisental. | Wachau. | Wagram (formerly Donauland). | Weinviertel

Burgenland: See BurgenlandSub-regions Eisenberg. | Leithaberg. | Mittelburgenland (Central Burgenland). | Mittelburgenland DAC Blaufränkisch. | Neusiedlersee. | Neusiedlersee-Hügelland

SteiermarkSee Steiermark (Styria)Sub-regions Vulkanland Steiermark (formerly Süd-Ost Steiermark or South-East Styria). | Weststeiermark (West Styria). | Südsteiermark (South Styria).