Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands. It is the largest country in Oceania and the world’s sixth-largest country by total area. Australia is the smallest, the lowest, the flattest and (apart from Antarctica) the driest of the world’s continents. The highest point on the Australian mainland is Mount Kosciuszko, New South Wales, at 2,228 metres (7,310 feet) above sea level. Australia was described by The Economist (24 Oct 2021 p.12) as ‘an Anglo-sphere place with a flourishing economy, fine weather and fabulous beaches.’

Organic & Biodynamic wine production data: See here.

Wine grapes: Sangiovese. | Tempranillo.

Appellation system: See Australian Geographical Indication.

RegionsAustralian Capital Territory. | New South Wales. | Northern Territory. | Queensland. | South Australia. | Tasmania. | Victoria. | Western Australia.

See also: Aboriginals. | Climate change. | Demographics. | Economy. | Political system. | Population by state